Anticipated Releases | January 2021

Like everyone else, a new month means new books. January is kicking off the year with some fantastic reads (that I definitely haven’t read most of). While I’m not planning on reading some of these books right away, I look forward to getting to at least some of these in 2021. I’m most looking forward to getting to experience stories new and old (all new to me) next year. While I’m not planning to read any of these books in January since I’m planning on reading a few other books instead, these will definitely come sooner rather than later (I hope)

Lore by Alexandra Bracken | January 5, 2021

Summary via Goodreads:

From the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Darkest Minds comes a sweepingly ambitious, high-octane tale of power, destiny, love and redemption.

Every seven years, the Agon begins. As punishment for a past rebellion, nine Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals, hunted by the descendants of ancient bloodlines, all eager to kill a god and seize their divine power and immortality.
Long ago, Lore Perseous fled that brutal world in the wake of her family’s sadistic murder by a rival line, turning her back on the hunt’s promises of eternal glory. For years she’s pushed away any thought of revenge against the man–now a god–responsible for their deaths.

Yet as the next hunt dawns over New York City, two participants seek out her help: Castor, a childhood friend of Lore believed long dead, and a gravely wounded Athena, among the last of the original gods.

The goddess offers an alliance against their mutual enemy and, at last, a way for Lore to leave the Agon behind forever. But Lore’s decision to bind her fate to Athena’s and rejoin the hunt will come at a deadly cost–and still may not be enough to stop the rise of a new god with the power to bring humanity to its knees.

Ever since Alexandra Bracken announced she was writing this book, I was already excited. This is one of those books that just reads like it’s for fans of Rick Riordan. I am so excited to read about the journey Lore takes us on, and I am excited to see Alex Bracken’s take on Greek Mythology. From watching her Instagram stories over the course of her writing it, I could tell that she had a really close connection to this story and the character’s and I can’t wait to see how it all unfolds!

That being said, I’ve pre-ordered this book, and I’m fairly certain this is in a book box I subscribe to for January. So, yes, I’ll have two editions of this. But I don’t mind. This cover is absolutely beautiful, and the box also announced that it will have an exclusive cover which I’m super pumped about. I love when editions are different.

Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift | January 19, 2021

Summary from Goodreads:

The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross…and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery’s fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it’s complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

I admit, I hadn’t heard of this book until I was going through the 2021 YA Releases tumblr (mentioned in this post) when I was researching for this post. But when I found this book, I knew I had to get it. It has two of my favorite tropes: arranged marriage and enemies to lovers. I was all YES PLEASE. When I read the description, it immediately became a must have, and I’m so excited to see what this book is all about.

I would even go as far to say that this book would also be fore fans of Serpent & Dove, which is why this had me so excited!

The Famoux by Kassandra Tate | January 19, 2021

Summary from Goodreads:

Fame can be deadly.

Out of the wreckage of environmental collapse, the country of Delicatum emerged. Its most popular celebrities are the Famoux, uniquely beautiful stars of a reality TV show called the Fishbowl. In a world still recovering from catastrophe, they provide a 24/7 distraction.

Sixteen-year-old Emilee Laurence is obsessed with the Famoux—they provide a refuge from her troubled home life and the bullies at school. When she receives an unimaginable offer to become a member herself, she takes it. Leaving behind everything she’s ever known, Emilee enters a world of high glamour and even higher stakes.

Because behind their perfect image lies an ugly truth—an anonymous stalker has been dictating the Famoux’s every move, and being popular really is a matter of life or death.

I admit, besides Lore, this is my other most anticipated release, and it’s because I read a version of this years and years ago when I was writing on Wattpad. I discovered Kassandra Tate when I was a Wattpad Star (I used to write fanfiction and I had enough traction on my account to be considered for that opportunity). Kassandra was definitely one of those people I immediately clicked with, and I fell in love with her book (this one). I’m so glad Wattpad chose to publish this one, and I’m looking forward to seeing the quality of their publishing house as I haven’t read any books under their publishing company. I am also looking forward to seeing how this story has evolved over the past few years.

Rise of the Red Hand by Olivia Chadha | January 19, 2021

Summary from Goodreads:

A rare, searing portrayal of the future of climate change in South Asia. A streetrat turned revolutionary and the disillusioned hacker son of a politician try to take down a ruthlessly technocratic government that sacrifices its poorest citizens to build its utopia.

The South Asian Province is split in two. Uplanders lead luxurious lives inside a climate-controlled biodome, dependent on technology and gene therapy to keep them healthy and youthful forever. Outside, the poor and forgotten scrape by with discarded black-market robotics, a society of poverty-stricken cyborgs struggling to survive in slums threatened by rising sea levels, unbreathable air, and deadly superbugs.

Ashiva works for the Red Hand, an underground network of revolutionaries fighting the government, which is run by a merciless computer algorithm that dictates every citizen’s fate. She’s a smuggler with the best robotic arm and cybernetic enhancements the slums can offer, and her cargo includes the most vulnerable of the city’s abandoned children.

When Ashiva crosses paths with the brilliant hacker Riz-Ali, a privileged Uplander who finds himself embroiled in the Red Hand’s dangerous activities, they uncover a horrifying conspiracy that the government will do anything to bury. From armed guardians kidnapping children to massive robots flattening the slums, to a pandemic that threatens to sweep through the city like wildfire, Ashiva and Riz-Ali will have to put aside their differences in order to fight the system and save the communities they love from destruction.

Like with Cast in Firelight, I didn’t discover this one until I was researching for this post. I was looking for a good science fiction book, and this one really seems to fit the bill, and I am so looking forward to diving into this one! I love seeing new twists in Science Fiction since so much of it is based in our world (or what will become of our world). These books, to me, are a comfort read and there just isn’t enough of this genre, so I look forward to picking this one up!

Tell me, readers, what are your January anticipated releases! They don’t have to just be Young Adult (that’s just my favorite genre). Give me some more books to read!
~Amanda xx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s