Enemies to Lovers | Fairlyloot November 2020

Summary of Theme

The November 2020 theme was Enemies to Lovers. I’m not gonna lie, when I heard that this was the theme, this had me squealing because this is one of my absolute favorite book and television show tropes. Tons of my favorite things have involved this trope, so I was looking forward to seeing how this would all come into play with the box.

Objects Received with Some Thoughts

Spoiler Card

The very first thing I always look for (besides pulling out the stuffing) is the spoiler card. I open these boxes with my mom, so she always sits there and teases me as we go through the box.

The artwork this box supplies is some of my favorite. As a writer, I love finding inspiring artwork, so I love hanging these up on my walls above my desk for a little bit of information. I always give these to my mom as I don’t want to read the spoilers as I’m looking through the box.

Phone Screen Cleaner

The second item was a phone screen cleaner inspired by Angelfall by Susan Ee and designed by taratjah. This is a pretty item, but this was one of those items that I was a little disappointed by. For starters, Angelfall is one of my least favorite books, so I already wasn’t a fan. But the main reason I didn’t like this item was for the reusability of it.

When I purchase book boxes, I mostly purchase it because I do like to have the bookish items, but if they’re decorative, I like to be able to use them repeatedly. This one just didn’t hit the mark for me, unfortunately.

Foiled Bookmarks

The next items are foiled bookmarks featuring couples from Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin, A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa, and These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong. The concept behind these bookmarks was to modernize these characters which is an art concept I personally love. These were by rukasu.art.

While I enjoy having bookmarks, I feel like the novelty of getting new bookmarks has worn off. We already get one bookmark every box, but this box had five total. To me, it would’ve been nice to spread these out, or just change the item. I love bookmarks, but again, I have more than enough at this point.

Bag Hanger

This item is a bag hanger with an illustration designed by taratjah inspired by The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. This was definitely one of the most unique items in the box. While I am loving this item, I am a little perplexed as to when I should be able to use this item due to the current pandemic.

I think this is a great item for those who don’t put a lot of things in their bags, but that person is most definitely not me. I am a bag lady through and through, so my bags do get pretty heavy, and I’m not sure how this would hold up with heavier bags.

Bookish Scarf

A bookish scarf designed by jezhawk, and inspired by A Song of Wraiths and Ruins by Roseanne A. Brown. I admit, just like the bag hanger, I’m not sure what to do with this. I love the feel of it because it’s so lightweight, however, I’ve never been sure how to style scarves. This could just be me and the fact that it’s perpetually winter where I live and because of Covid, I don’t know when I would be able to wear this as I’ve never really been much of a scarf wearer. I think this is a great item for those who wear these items, I do think it could be a lot simpler (like the scarf in a box a while back with cats and books on it).

Literary Scrunchie

This is a literary scrunchie inspired by the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. This is definitely one of my favorite items. I’ve never had a scrunchie like this, so I am thrilled that this was being included. Scrunchies have quickly become one of my favorite items to use. This one item, as much as I love it, is a little less as versatile as other scrunchies previously included in these boxes. For me, this is going to be a special kind of outfit with a special kind of hairstyle. I would love to see people wearing inspired outfits with this. It’s definitely giving me some dark academia vibes.

Tote Bag

This tote bag designed by rosiethorns88 had me so excited because I love bags. As I said earlier, I’m a self-proclaimed bag lady, so any sort of bag always has me happy. This features Cardan and Jude from The Folk of the Air Series by Holly Black. While I don’t know who these characters are, and the art isn’t my favorite style, I do love the bag. It’s amazing quality (as always) and I will definitely put it to good use. I envision me using this as a little bag I can put my writing stuff in when I can visit friends again!

Tarot Cards

Now for my favorite objects besides the book: the tarot cards designed by arz28 and they’re inspired by Crescent City by Sarah J Maas. These are always my absolute favorite objects because I would love a bookish themed tarot set. The cards are all stunning, and I love collecting them. Normally, we get two in the box, but the last box had them missing, so I’m not sure which ones would be the November ones.

The Book

The exclusive covered book with artwork (on the reverse is a letter from the author) and an annotated chapter by the author

The book for this month was a bookplate signed, sprayed edges, and exclusive cover of These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong. I saw this book a while back and it was on my purchase list, but I hadn’t bought it yet, and I’m so glad I didn’t. This book looks amazing! When I saw the art in this box, I got super excited with it being a 20s sort of vibe to the book. I’ve never read a fantasy novel with that sort of vibe to it, so I am excited to dive into the world of this book.

The Summary from Goodreads:

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

I am so excited to dive into this book in the near future. It looks absolutely stunning and it looks like the kind of book that I will obsess over because it looks just that good.

Overall Thoughts

The sprayed pages of These Violent Delights

This box has some good items, but as a whole, I did feel that this box was a bit more of a miss than a hit for me. I loved the book, and this was certainly my favorite item aside from the tarot cards, but I could’ve done without some of the other items. I love the boxes where I get items I can reuse things repeatedly, and this one is one where I don’t see this happening.

Next Month’s Theme

Image taken from the Fairyloot Blog Post

No expression can describe real close friendships better than ‘thick as thieves’ and this theme is all about stories with groups of friends or found families that go on adventures, share secrets and get up to all sorts of shenanigans − which might sometimes even involve saving the world from imminent doom.

You can expect items inspired by The HobbitThrone of GlassChildren of Blood and Bone and The Raven Boys. We are thrilled to reveal that this box will include the next secret book by @noverantale (it is STUNNING!) and it will also include a calendar for 2021 with beautiful character artwork for each month by @dominiquewesson from multiple fandoms.

Our featured book of the month is filled with fae, sinister sorcery and gallows humour. This ragtag crew of reluctant heroes has to take on a world-ending fae prophecy and a malicious royal plot. This FairyLoot exclusive edition will have SHIMMERY SPRAYED EDGES, ARTWORK ON THE REVERSE OF THE DUST JACKET, a FOIL DESIGN ON THE HARDCOVER and SIGNED ENDPAPERS!

Taken from the Fairyloot Blog Post Announcement: https://community.fairyloot.com/december-theme-thick-as-thieves/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s